FMARD Recruitment 2021  Yobe State SUBEB recruitment portal Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs Recruitment

9thSenateDecides: Lawan’s supporters refuse use of secret ballot, Clerk puts them in order

1 min

The inauguration of the 9th Senate started at 10:00a.m. on Tuesday with protest from supporters of Sen. Ahmad Lawan following announcement from the Clerk of the National Assembly that secret ballot would be used for election.
The Clerk, Mohammed Omolori after reading the proclamation from President Muhammadu Buhari at exactly 10:00 announced the use of the 2015 Senate Rule which specifies the use of secret ballot in electing presiding officers.

He rarely finished when supporters of Lawan began protesting, saying they would not accept the use of 2015 rule.
Prominent among those who led the protest are Sen. Solomon Adeola(APC-Lagos) and Sen. Barau Jibrin(APC-Kano).

READ ALSO  Ruga: Coalition that fought Biafra in 1967 has collapsed, you can’t win any war again – Afenifere warns Northerners

Speaking, the clerk explained that he did not receive any court order stopping him for from using anything other than the 2015 rule.
He also told the protesting members that they did not “have any voice till after the election.

At that point, the Clerk of the Senate, Nelson Ayewoh took the role call. At the end of the role call, 107 senators-elect were present for the election. Two seats from Imo state were declared vacant.
Thereafter nomination of candidates for president of the senate was done to allow for the election proper.

Jobs Vacancies in Nigeria

Like it? Share with your friends!

Jake Clifford

Jake Clifford is a Nigerian Born blogger and a fast growing Journalist, whose aim is to inform Nigerians with happening across Nigeria. Send story tips to him via [email protected] or


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.