FMARD Recruitment 2021  Yobe State SUBEB recruitment portal Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs Recruitment

Ayade Inaugurates Task Force On Quarries

1 min

…Charge members to ensure that trucks leaving the quarries, pay the required levy

The Governor’s Taskforce on Quarries has been inaugurated with a charge that all trucks living the quarries, pay the required levy to government.

The ceremony took place at the deputy governor’s conference room in Government House Calabar.

Speaking while inaugurating the six-man task force, the deputy governor Professor Ivara Esu, who represented the Governor, Sen. Prof. Ben Ayade, said the Governor’s Task Force on Quarries is key to the economy of the state as it will boost the internally generated revenue.

He remarked that the composition of the taskforce is a reward for hardwork and a testimony that they are going to leave up to Government’s expectation.

READ ALSO  Economy: Ayade Is A Proactive Leader, Says Finance Commissioner

Professor Esu, enjoined the team to encourage the quarries to work at maximum capacity while admonishing them not to tarnish their reputation built over the years by not indulging in fraudulent practices in the cause of their duties.

Adding, the Commissioner for Solid Minerals, Mr. George O’ben-Etchi intimated that it has become expedient due to the lapses of the revenue accruing to government from these companies adding that it is the responsibility of the Governor’s Task Force on Quarries to carry out checks of the number of loaded trucks to ensure that they are properly levied.

Responding, the chairman of the Governor’s Taskforce on Quarries, Mr. Patrick Egbede said that the team will work according to the mandate given to them.

READ ALSO  REVEALED : Okoi Obono-Obla was suspended for acting beyond his mandate — FG

He pledge on behalf of members that, they will not in any way interfere in the daily operations of the quarries and appealed for cooperation to enable the team achieve its predetermined objectives.

The six-man Taskforce has Mr. Patrick Egbede as Chairman, Judian Mbey Asuqua, Mr. Ajao Amama, Mr. Imokanne Ntari, Emmanuel Ita George and Erasmus Ekpang as members.

The Secretary to the State Government, Tina Banku Agbor, Commissioner for Information and Orientation, Comr. Okang Asu and Senior Aides to the Deputy Governor were in attendance.

Deputy Governor’s Press Unit

Like it? Share with your friends!

Jake Clifford

Jake Clifford is a Nigerian Born blogger and a fast growing Journalist, whose aim is to inform Nigerians with happening across Nigeria. Send story tips to him via [email protected] or


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.