BREAKING!!! Defection To APC: Oyo Assembly Impeached Deputy Governor


Massive Recruitment at the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC)

BREAKING!!! Defection To APC: Oyo Assembly Impeached Deputy Governor


The Oyo State House of Assembly have Impeached Engr. Ruaf Olaniyan, the Deputy Governor to Seyi Makinde. had on Wednesday gathered that all the lawmakers, except for Hon. Ayawo Oyebunmi who is from his constituency, assented the impeachment process.


NPC Recruitment portal 2022 for Adhoc Staff, Requirements, Closing Date

Our correspondent gathered that Olaniyan had few days ago announced his defection from the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to All Progressives Congress (APC).

Olaniyan and governor Seyi Makinde were elected as deputy governor and governor on the platform of PDP in 2019.

Twenty-four members out of the 32 members of the assembly have however initiated impeachment process against the deputy governor.

READ ALSO  RIGHT NOW!! EFCC Arrests Another Former Governor

The lawmakers began this move when they submitted a petition during the plenary of the house on Wednesday.

The lawmakers in the petition read by the Clerk of the Assembly, Yetunde Awe, alleged the deputy governor has abandoned his office.

They also alleged the deputy governor of gross misconduct, financial recklessness, insubordination and other offences.

The lawmakers unanimously said that they would give the Deputy Governor a seven-day grace period to respond to the allegations.

They, however, added that failure to respond within the period can lead to the commencement of impeachment move.

The window of response takes immediate effect and to lapse on Wednesday June 22, according to the lawmakers.

READ ALSO  BREAKING!!! Court Orders INEC To Issue Certificate of Return To Ararume

The lawmakers that signed the petition included the Deputy Speaker, Abiodun Muhammad Fadeyi (Ona Ara), Majority leader, Onaolapo Sanjo (Ogbomosho South), Babalola Olasunkanmi (Egbeda), Adebisi Yussuf (Ibadan South West 1), Okedoyin Julius (Saki West) and Adebayo Babajide (Ibadan North 2).

Others are Kehinde Olatunde (Akinyele 2), Olajide Akintunde (Lagelu), Mustapha Akeem (Kajola), Popoola Ademola (Ibadan South East 2), Owolabi Olusola (Ibadan North East 2), Olagoke Olamide (Ibadan North East 1), Olayanju Kazeem (Irepo/Olorunsogo), Ojedokun Peter (Ibarapa North/Centre).

The rest are; Gbadamosi Saminu (Saki East/Atisbo), Mabaje Adekunle (Iddo), Oluwafowokanmi Oluwafemi (Ibadan South West 2), Akeem Adedibu (Iwajowa), Fatokun Ayo (Akinyele 1), Rasak Ademola (Ibadan South East 1), Obadara Akeem (Ibadan North West), Oyekunle Fola (Ibadan North 1) and Adetunji Francis (Oluyole).

READ ALSO  BREAKING!! PDP Youth Alliance Gives EFCC 5 Days Ultimatum To Probe Tinubu, Akpabio, Ganduje And Oshiomole Over Looted Funds


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.