FMARD Recruitment 2021  Yobe State SUBEB recruitment portal Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs Recruitment

BREAKING!! Ighalo Has Been Sentenced To Prison

1 min

BREAKING!! Ighalo Has Been Sentenced To Prison



Destiny Ighalo and ten others were convicted and sentenced for internet fraud by Justice Adamu Turaki Mohammed of the Federal High Court in Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

For theft, they were sentenced to different jail terms.

The defendants were charged with impersonation and obtaining by false pretense by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission’s (EFCC) Benin Zonal Office.

Anhwo Samson, Harry Omo-egbekun Hamilton, Odiase Martins, Okuson Godspower, Destiny Ighalo, Andrew Onoyoa, Omebu Happy, Enofe Michael, Adelakun Abdulkareem, Akpowowo Favour, and Imaah Joseph are among those who have been found guilty.

They all pled guilty to a single count charge brought by the Commission against them.

READ ALSO  BREAKING: Air France suspends flying through Iran, Iraq airspace, gives reasons

The prosecution’s lawyer, Ahmed Arogha, asked the court to convict and sentence the defendants based on their pleas.

However, the defendants’ attorneys, John Okhuihievbe and O.A. Egharevba, pleaded with the court to temper justice with mercy because the defendants were first-time offenders who had shown remorse.

Many of the defendants were found guilty and sentenced to different jail terms by Justice Mohammed.

Samson was sentenced to two years in prison and a fine of N200,000. He must also pay the federal government N3,684,439.18 in forfeiture.

Ighalo was sentenced to two years in jail or a $500,000 fine. The federal government will receive a Luxus SUV 330 model, tablets, and phones from Ighalo.

READ ALSO  Christmas: Uproar As Lagos Governor Bans Concerts, Carnival And Street Parties Following Rise In COVID-19 Cases

Andrew Onoyoa was sentenced to three years in prison and a N1 million fine. In addition, he would surrender a Luxus 230 SUV and a Toyota Camry car to the federal government.

Godspower, Happy, Enofe, Joseph, Favour, Abdulkareem, and Martin, the other defendants, were each sentenced to two years in prison with the option of a fine of N200,000. Hamilton was sentenced to two years in jail or a N100,000 fine.

Both convicts must sign a written agreement to immediately be of good behavior.

“That you Anhwo Samson (aka Anhwo Samcity), Adelakun Abdulkareem (aka Terry Walker), Omebu Happy (aka Christ David), Imaah Joseph (aka Pietro Jones), Enofe Michael (aka Charlotte Crypto B.T.C Dan Trader) and Akpowowo Favour Omanufogho (aka Prof. Melisa Dan) on or around the 10th day of July 2020 at Efemena Close, Ozor

READ ALSO  BREAKING!!! Tension In Nigeria As Fulani Herdsmen Vows To Kill Governor Ortom, Says There's No Hidden Place For Governor

Jobs Vacancies in Nigeria

Like it? Share with your friends!

Jake Clifford

Jake Clifford is a Nigerian Born blogger and a fast growing Journalist, whose aim is to inform Nigerians with happening across Nigeria. Send story tips to him via [email protected] or


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.