FMARD Recruitment 2021  Yobe State SUBEB recruitment portal Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs Recruitment

Senate confirms Akande as NCC chairman, as senator raises dust over Duroyaiye’s removal

2 min

The Senate on Wednesday confirmed the appointment of Senator Adeolu Akande as chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC).
Mr Uche Onwude was equally confirmed as a member of the Board of the telecommunications regulatory body.

Before the confirmation, senator representing Lagos West, Solomon Olamilekan Adeola, however, called the attention of the lawmakers to the circumstances surrounding the removal of the erstwhile chairman of the NCC, Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye, by President Muhammadu Buhari which he viewed as unceremonious.

He appealed for the intervention of the Senate on the matter, so as to give the former lawmaker and former chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission the opportunity and privilege of tendering his resignation.
He was however countered by President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan.
The President of the Senate said the intervention to allow Senator Durojaiye to have proper resignation was beyond the jurisdiction of the Red Chamber.
He said: “The Senate did not initiate the nomination. The Senate received the nomination from Mr President. The initial nomination of the former chairman was only brought to the Senate to be confirmed at that time.

READ ALSO  SHOCKING!! COVID-19 Patient Kidnapped Two Health Workers In Kano

“So, the issue of whether to have the opportunity to resign is entirely not in the hands of the Senate. However, I really sympathise with the situation, but I want to remind you, that the prerogative of nominations rests with Mr President.

“This Senate will always try to ensure that there is adherence to due processes. But I believe that this is a matter that can best be sorted out in the Presidency rather than in the Senate.”
The Senate also confirmed the appointment of nominees to serve as chairman and members of the National Assembly Service Commission (NASC).
The confirmation of the nominees was sequel to the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Establishment and Public Service, presented by its chairman, Senator Ibrahim Shekarau.

READ ALSO  Again, Nigeria plunged into darkness as national grid collapses for hours

The nominees confirmed to serve on the National Assembly Service Commission include Engr. Ahmed Kadi Amshi, Chairman; Babagana Modu (Borno – North East); Senator Abubakar Tutare, Taraba- North-East); Hakeem Akamo (Lagos – South-West); Tunrayo Akintomide (Ondo – South-West); Atanomeyorwi Francis (Delta – South-South) and Engr. Bassey Etuk (Akwa Ibom – South-South).
Others were Honourable Bailyaminu Yusuf Shinkafi (Zamfara – North-West); Sani Saidu Kazaure (Jigawa – North-West); Senator Julius Ucha (Ebonyi – South-East); Auwalu Aliyu Ohindase (Kogi – North-Central and Muazu Is’haq (Nasarawa – North Central).
The Senate, however, adopted the committee’s recommendation for another nomination to fill the South-East slot declined by the Imo State nominee, Nnamdi Anyaehi.
Nigerian Tribune

READ ALSO  NYSC moves to rescue corps member from Boko Haram’s captivity

Like it? Share with your friends!

Jake Clifford

Jake Clifford is a Nigerian Born blogger and a fast growing Journalist, whose aim is to inform Nigerians with happening across Nigeria. Send story tips to him via [email protected] or


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.