BREAKING!! President Buhari Sets Up Health Reform Committee: Appoint Betta Edu, 30 Others [Full List]


Massive Recruitment at the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC)

BREAKING!! President Buhari Sets Up Health Reform Committee: Appoint Betta Edu, 30 Others [Full List]

Dr Betta Edu, Cross River State Commissioner for Health and Chairman Nigeria Health Commissioners Forum has been appointed among 30 others to represent National Council on Health in Health Sector Reform Committee to be chaired by Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo. This was disclosed by Garba Shehu Senior Special Assistant to the President, Media and Publicity on Monday evening.

President Muhammadu Buhari who approved the setting up of a Health Sector Reform
Committee to commence the development and implementation of a Health Sector Reform programme for Nigeria in collaboration with the State Governments and the FCT administration announced the Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo as the Chairman of the special task committee.

READ ALSO  EndSARS Aftermath: Cross River Rebuilds Its Essential Drug Program Office Complex Supported By USAID GHSC  

The committee which will undertake a review of all healthcare reforms adopted in the past two decades and lessons learnt and factor them into the development of the new Health Sector Reform Programme will work for a period of six months under the Chairmanship of Vice President with members drawn from private and public sector health care management professionals, development partners, representatives from the National Assembly as well as the Nigeria Governors Forum among others.

Other members are: His Excellency Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, Governor of Delta State ; Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Honourable Minister of Health; Mr. Alex Okoh Director General BPE; Prof Ibrahim Abubakar, a Professor in Infectious Disease Epidemiology at University College London and Director of the UCL Institute for Global Health; Mr Babatunde Irukera, Director General, Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Council; Senator( Dr) Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe; Dr. Adedamola Dada; Dr. Sani Aliyu; Dr. Mairo Mandara; Dr. Haliru Yahaya, Emir of Shonga; Professor Uche Amazigbo ; Director Hospital Services, Federal Ministry of Health; Dr Faisal Shuaib; Prof Nasiru Sambo; Dr Ifedayo Morayo Adetifa; Dr Gambo Aliyu;

NPC Recruitment portal 2022 for Adhoc Staff, Requirements, Closing Date

READ ALSO  Betta Edu Is The New Acting National Chairman Of Nigerian Commissioners For Health Forum

Others in the committee are President Nigeria Medial Association; President Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria; President National Association of Nigeria Nurses & Midwives; President Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria ; Mrs Temi Marcella Awogboro ; Dr. Muhammad Sadiq; Dr. Azubike Tagbo and World Health Organization, Nigeria.

Vesta Healthcare Partners and Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation are to serve as resources persons and have observer roles in the committee.

Meanwhile, President Buhari has also approved the appointment of Dr Ifedayo Morayo Adetifa as the new Director General of Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC). The President has named him as a member of this important committee.

READ ALSO  Health Commissioner, Betta Edu Greet Cross Riverians At New Year, Reassure Quality, Timely Health Services Delivery


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.