I Will Resign If Amaechi Names One Federal Project He Brought To Rivers Since 2015 – Wike Challenges Amaechi



Nyesom Wike, the governor of Rivers State, has vowed to resign if his predecessor, Rotimi Amaechi, the Minister of Transportation, cites a federal project that he has brought to the state since 2015.

Dr. Davies Ikanya and Igo Aguma, two former chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Rivers, as well as other party chieftains, were received by the governor at the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) headquarters in Port Harcourt yesterday.

The governor further stated that Amaechi claimed he sold a Dash 8 aircraft to the Government of Cross River for $6 million, but failed to account for the revenues of the deal.

The governor, who mentioned a number of projects he helped bring to Rivers State while serving as Minister of State for Education under former President Goodluck Jonathan’s government, encouraged Amaechi to follow in his footsteps by reviving the dormant Port Harcourt seaports and creating jobs for Rivers’ youths.

The defection of Dr. Ikanya, Aguma, and others, according to the State PDP chairman, Amb. Desmond Akawor, marked the formal interment of the opposition party in Rivers.

Ikanya defended his decision to leave the APC by stating that he could not continue to be a member of a political party based on dishonesty with good conscience.

All of the expectations that the APC would deliver security, job opportunities, and a better life for Nigerians, he claims, have proven to be a phantom.

Ikanya expressed sadness that the party had been hijacked by individuals who prioritized their own personal interests over the party’s.

He took the opportunity to apologize to Governor Nyesom Wike and the people of Rivers for bringing the APC to the state.

Aguma, for his part, charged Amaechi with brainwashing him and others into joining the APC.

He demanded that the Attorney-General of the Federation probe the Niger Delta Development Commission’s (NDDC) finances from 2016 to 2019.

Chief Ogbogbo Nnamdi, Isobo Jack, previous caretaker chairman; Paul Nwankwoala, former APC legal counsel; Faaye Franklin, Chief Andy Nweye, and Alamese Martins-Yellow were among the APC chieftains who defected to the PDP.

Ilamabo Mirila, Dr. More Oja-Chinda, Benibo Anabraraba, Alphine Whyte, and Wisdom Wakama were among the others.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to Wee Talk Naija and receive notifications of new posts by email.

More News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.