Musa, Ighalo And Oshoala Shortlisted For Nigeria Pitch Awards


INEC Adhoc Staff Recruitment Portal 2022 for 2023 Election | INEC Recruitment Portal login

Super Eagles duo of Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo and Super Falcons Star, Asisat Oshoala, have been nominated for the 2018/2019 Nigeria Pitch Awards in different categories. The Nominees were announced in a press conference at the prestigious IBIS Hotel on Thursday afternoon.
This is the sixth edition of the awards which has received rave reviews from footballers, sports journalists and other major stakeholders in the round leather game. The award has grown in leaps and bounds since the first edition took place in Calabar.
Odion Ighalo will battle it out with Ahmed Musa and Wilfred Ndidi for the King of the Pitch award. Francisca Ordega, Asisat Oshoala and Rasheedat Ajibade will slug it for the Queen of the Pitch award.
President of the Nigeria Pitch Awards Shina Phillips acknowledged the support of the sports journalists and other major stakeholders. “I have always mentioned at different platforms that we have enjoyed tremendous support from sport editors and journalists, you have been our first and longest serving partners,” he said.
Shina Phillips also reserved special praise for SIAO partners, an auditing firm with best international practice who are responsible for the collation of the result to ensure transparency and integrity. They have approached the responsibility of the collation of the result with all sense of professionalism, they have demonstrated their integrity in the accounting world.

Below is the full list of nominees for the Nigeria Pitch Awards for 2018/19 football season:

Goalkeeper of the Year

Ilechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United)
Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC)
Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta)
Defender of the Year
Leon Balogun (B&H Albion FC)
Williams Troost-Ekong (Udinese FC)
Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes FC)

Midfielder of the Year

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Massive Job Recruitment Exercise 2022 - 132 Positions

Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City)
Alex Iwobi (Arsenal)
Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City)
Striker of the Year
Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars)
Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua)
Ahmed Musa (Al-Nassr)
Godwin Aguda (Rangers)
Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars)
Mfom Udoh (Akwa Utd)
Anam Imo (Nasarawa Utd)
Evelyn Nwabuoku (Rivers Angels)
Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo)
Queen of The Pitch
Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona)
Francisca Ordega (Shanghai Shengli)
Rasheedat Ajibade (Avaldsnes IL)
King of The Pitch
Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua)
Ahmed Musa (Al-Nassr)
Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City)
Coach of The Year
Thomas Dennerby (Super Falcons)
Gbenga Ogunbote (Rangers)
Solomon Ogbeide (Lobi Stars)

Club of The Year

Akwa Utd (Akwa Ibom)
Rangers (Enugu)
Lobi Stars (Makurdi)
National Team Of the year
Super Sand Eagles
Super Falcons
Super Eagles

Referee of the Year

Ogabor Joseph Odey
Adebimpe Quadri
Ferdinand Udoh
Sam Okwaraji Awards
Kunle Soname
Amaju Pinnick
Seyi Akinwunmi

State With The Best Grassroots Football

Development Programme
Delta State
Rivers State
Lagos State

Football Friendly Governor of the Year

HE Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom)
HE Nyesom Wike (Rivers)
HE Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta)
Football Journalist of the Year (Print)
Tunde Liadi (The Nation)
Johnny Edwards (Complete Sports)
Tana Aiyejina (Punch)

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio)

George Essien (Comfort 95.1FM)
Tony Bekederemo (Brila FM)
Olawale Adigun (Top Radio)
Football Journalist of the year (TV)
Cecilia Omoregbe (Channels TV)
Mozez Praiz (SuperSport)
Austin Okon-Akpan (Channels TV)
Football Journalist of the year (Online)
Tobi Adepoju (naijafootballplus)
Kunle Solaja (sportsvillagesquare)
Samuel Ahmadu ( )

•Photo shows Pitch Award organisers during the press conference
Source Daily Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.