NASS: 4 Speakership Aspirants Back Out, Steps Down For Gbajabiamila


WAEC 2022 Massive Recruitment for Graduates

•Wase, Betara, Namdaz, Buba forego ambition for Gbajabiamila
•Senate rules slippery, House Standing Orders give Gbajabiamila edge
•Wase likely for Deputy Speaker amidst Christian-Muslim rivalry
Sir Frederic Metcalfe—1955- 19592.

Jaja Wachuku (NCNC) (First indigenous Speaker of the
House of Reps in Nigeria)1959-1960 —Aba Division, Abia
Ibrahim Jalo Waziri (NPC) 1960-1966 –Gombe/Kwami/
Funakaye Federal Constituency, Gombe State

Edwin Ume- Ezeoke (NPN) 1979-1983—-Nnewi North/
South/Ekeusigo Federal Constituency, Anambra State

Chacha Biam (NPN) 1983—-Katsina-Ala/Ukum/Logo
Federal Constituency, Benue State

Salisu Buhari (PDP) 1999-2000—–Nasarawa Federal
Constituency, Kano State
Ghali Umar Na’Abba (PDP) 2000-2003 —-Kano Municipal
Federal Constituency, Kano State

Nigerian Army Recruitment Portal 2022 – DSSC Course (26 / 2022)

Aminu Bello Masari (PDP) 2003-2007—–Malumfashi/
Kafur Federal Constituency, Katsina State

Patricia Etteh (PDP) (First female Speaker of the House of
Reps)2007–Ayedaade/Isokan/Irewole Federal
Constituency, Osun State

Dimeji Bankole (PDP) 2007-2011 —-Abeokuta South
Federal Constituency, Ogun State.

Aminu Waziri Tambuwal (PDP) 2011-2015—-Kebbe/
Tambuwal Federal Constituency, Sokoto State

Yakubu Dogara 2015 till date APC/PDP —-Bogoro/
Dass/Tafawa Balewa Federal constituency, Bauchi State

Dr. Idris Ibrahim Kuta (Bida/Gbako/Katcha, Federal
Constituency, Niger State)—1979-1983.

Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso (Kura/Madobi/Garun Malam
Federal Constituency, Kano state)—-1992-1993.

Chibudom Nwuche (Ahoada West/Ogba
EgbemaFederal Constituency, Rivers State)-1999-2003.

Austin Opara (Port Harcourt 11Federal Constituency,
Rivers State )— 2003-2007

READ ALSO  PDP Hails Tribunal Verdict On Adamawa Governorship Election

Babangida Nguroje (Gashaka/Kurmi/Sardauna,
Federal Constituency, Taraba State)–une 2002-Oct 2007

Usman Bayero Nafada (Dukku / Nafada Federal
Constituency, Gombe)—Oct 2007-June 2011

Emeka Ihedioha (Aboh Mbaise/Ngor Okpala Federal
Constituency, Imo State)–June 2011-2015.

Yussuff Lasun (Irepodun/Olorunda/Osogbo/Orolu
Federal Constituency, Osun State)— 2015-2019.
The route to the Speakership of the 9th House of Representatives seems to be getting smoother for Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila (APC, Surulere, Lagos State).

.READ ALSO.:Stop dodging issues, address your failures, PDP replies Lai Mohammed

Four of his co-contestants for the position have pulled out of  the race for him ,The Nation gathered yesterday.
But two others are still in the contest with him.
The battle for the Senate Presidency remains a three-way affair for Dr. Ahmad Lawan, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Appropriations, Alhaji  Danjuma Goje and a former Senate Leader, Alhaji  Ali Ndume.
Sources said Idris Ahmed Wase (Plateau), Abdulrazak Namdas (Adamawa), Aliyu Betara Mukhtar  (Borno), and Yusuf Yakubu Buba (Borno) have stood down their ambition for Gbajabiamila who is favoured by the APC hierarchy for the job.
Umar Mohammed Bago (Niger) and John Dyegh (Benue) are yet to withdraw from the race.
Although Wase has been adopted for the office of Deputy Speaker, he faces a fresh hurdle from the camp of   outgoing Speaker Yakubu Dogara which is demanding the slot for a Christian candidate.
But some members-elect are insisting that religion should not be a factor for Wase because, according to them, there had been a Christian-Christian mandate in the House in the past.
They said merit and capacity, rather than religion, should be the overriding factor.
Investigation by our correspondent revealed that the withdrawal of the four ranking Reps for Gbajabiamila is a fallout of  ongoing negotiation between  the  Gbajabiamila camp and critical stakeholders in the chambers.
A source called it a major breakthrough in the quest to install Gbajabiamila as the next Speaker.
The four have also agreed to join forces to work for Gbajabiamila whose party (APC) has over 226 of the 360 members-elect.
Gbajabiamila, who also has associates in PDP, needs about 181 votes (if there is a full house of elected members) to emerge as Speaker.
A well-placed  source  said: “So far, the campaign for the office of the Speaker is taking  a good shape for Gbajabiamila with the withdrawal of these four heavyweights from the race.
“We are however not taking things for granted. There is a little relief in the APC camp because the PDP appears not keen any more for the office of Speaker because of the intense lobbying from Gbajabiamila’s friends, associates and strategists.
“About three weeks to the election of principal officers, most PDP lawmakers-elect are still awaiting directive on who to vote for. Instead of losing out, some of them have decided to align with Gbajabiamila to be in good stead for the House politics.

READ ALSO  Presidential Election: Buhari, Atiku To Know Fate Tomorrow

.READ ALSO.:Adeleke Kicks Against Court Of Appeal Judgment, Moves To Supreme Court, Hires 7 SAN, 17 Judges.

“Notwithstanding, the campaign team of Gbajabiamila has sustained its outreach by paying more attention to his sterling legislative qualities than sentiments around his recommendation for the office by the party.
“We have spent quality time to clarify the godfather allegation being circulated to prove that Gbajabiamila is a cosmopolitan candidate.”

On Umar Mohammed Bago and John Dyegh who are still in the race, another source – a returning Rep – said: “The APC and its leaders at all levels are trying to prevail on these two candidates to step down. We will still take advantage of the next three weeks to lobby them accordingly.

READ ALSO  Video: Lagos State Governor Mother's House On Fire


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.