OFFICIAL: Simon Lalong of APC wins Plateau Guber Rerun


INEC Adhoc Staff Recruitment Portal 2022 for 2023 Election | INEC Recruitment Portal login

PLateau state governor, SImon Bako Lalong. [Photo credit:]
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared governor Simon Lalong of the All Progressive Congress (APC) the winner of the 2019 governorship election in Plateau State.
Richard Kimbir, the Vice Chancellor of the University of Agriculture, Makurdi, made the declaration on Sunday on the state INEC headquarters after concluding the supplementary election held on Saturday.

Mr Lalong defeated Jeremiah Useni of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who got here second within the election.

The Plateau governorship election was, on March 11, declared inconclusive by the state returning officer, Mr Kimbir, a professor. He stated the margin between the 2 main candidates was lower than the variety of votes cancelled in your complete election.

According to INEC, on March 11, Governor Lalong had scored 583,255 votes whereas Mr Useni scored 548,336 votes, highlighting that not one of the main candidates met all the necessities of the regulation to win the election.

49,347 votes throughout 40 polling models had been cancelled in 9 Local Government Areas of the state.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Massive Job Recruitment Exercise 2022 - 132 Positions

The affected LGAs the place the rerun held embrace; Barkin Ladi, Bassa, Bokkos, Jos North, Kanam, Langtang South, Mangu, Pankshin, and Shendam.

Announcing the ultimate election outcomes scored by every social gathering, the returning officer stated Mr Lalong of the APC scored 595,582 votes whereas Mr Useni of the PDP scored 546,813.

“Simon Lalong of the APC, having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected,” the returning stated.

The margin between the winner and the runner-up is 48,769 votes.

The results of the election indicated that out of 17 LGAs of the state, Mr Lalong received in 11 whereas Mr Useni received in six.

Sunday’s last end result marks the second time Mr Lalong is defeating the PDP within the state.

In 2015, he defeated the late Gyang Pwajok of the PDP to turn out to be the primary governor from opposition to win governorship election within the state.

PDP had ruled the state for 16 years. Joshua Dariye, a senator who’s at present in jail, had ruled from 1999 to 2007 whereas Jonah Jang, ruled from 2007 to 2015.

The end result by LGAs is as follows:

Jos East

APC: 18, 602

PDP: 7, 994


APC: 23, 360

PDP: 22, 831

Langtang North

APC: 18, 979

PDP: 40, 519

Barkin Ladi

APC: 17, 080

PDP: 44, 529


APC: 27, 561

PDP: 26 ,700


APC: 30,441

PDP: 33,192

Langtang South

APC: 14,470

PDP: 18,868


APC: 36,215

PDP: 24,939


APC: 15, 150

PDP: 11, 703


APC: 55,338

PDP: 22,432

Jos South

APC: 33, 475

PDP: 91, 846

Jos North

APC: 109,161

PDP: 68,149


APC: 37, 593

PDP: 27, 485


APC: 51, 895

PDP: 43,555


APC: 12, 720

PDP: 24, 017

Qua’an Pan

APC: 31, 962

PDP: 20, 939


APC: 61, 798

PDP: 17,115

Total variety of votes scored by every of the 2 main events

APC – 595,582

PDP – 546,813


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.