Yobe State SUBEB recruitment portal Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs Recruitment

Meet The Original 34 Founders Of PDP, Atiku, Obasanjo, Jonathan Are Not Among

2 min

Meet The Original 34 Founders Of PDP, Atiku, Obasanjo, Jonathan Are Not Among

The PDP as a party is the only Nationalistic Party in Nigeria with spread and reach.

The party was built out of the association of eminent Nigerians listed below

1. Dr Alex Ekwueme

Dr Alex Ekweme was a former Vice President of Nigeria during the second republic. He was favored to fly PDP flag at the 1999 Presidential election until the entrance of Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, the eventual winner of the PDP presidential primary. He was also the leader of the PDP at its formation but stepped aside for Chief Solomon Lar

2. Chief Solomon Lar

Although chief Solomon Lar is regarded as the official protem Chairman of PDP, he in the real sense tookover the leadership of the party from Chief Alex Ekwueme before it became a registered political party. Chief Lar was a former Governor of Plateau state in the second republic.

3. Alhaji Abubakar Rimi:

Alhaji Abubakar Rimi was a former Governor of Kano state. He was regarded as the political leader of PDP in Kano state. He was tipped to emerge running mate to Chief Olusegun Obasanjo in 1999 but the former president preferred a younger Alhaji Atiku Abubakar.

READ ALSO  We won't allow religion to divide Nigerians — Buhari

4. Chief Bola Ige:

If there was any politician that participated in the formation of all 3 major political parties in 1998, the person was Chief Bola Ige. Bola Ige, a former governor of Osun state at the second republic, was appointed Minister of Power and later minister of Justice and Attorney General of the federation between 1999 and 2001. He was the AGF at the time.of assassination. While serving Obasanjo’s PDP administration, Bola Ige fully identified with opposition Alliance for Democracy and was the AD political leader in southwest geopolitical zone.

5. Chief Sunday Awoniyi

At the formation of the party and after it captured power in 1999, the Kogi born chief aspired to succeed the party as its national chairman but was resisted by Chief Obasanjo. In annoyance, he pulled out of the party and was elected Chairman of Arewa Consultative Forum.

READ ALSO  BREAKING!! Tears Flow As Serving House of Reps Member, Son and Driver Die In Accident

6. Alhaji Sule Lamido:

In 1999 Alhaji Lamido was the PDP gubernatorial candidate for Jigawa state but lost narrowly to Alhaji Saminu Turaki. Lamido was appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs by President Obasanjo as compensation for his gubernatorial loss. He however successfully run for Jigawa statw guber in 2007 and 2011 and won both elections. He unsuccessfully sought for PDP presidential ticket in 2019 but was defeated by Alhaji Atiku Abubakar.

7. Malam Adamu Ciroma

A former Governor of Central Bank and former minister of finance. He was a member of PDP Board of Trustees until his death in 2018

8. Professor Jerry Gana

Jerry Gana was appointed Minister of Information and National Orientation during Obasanjo administration

9.Alhaji Balarabe Musa

A former Governor of Kaduna state who later dumped the party for unpopar opposition party due to disagreement with Chief Obasanjo.

10. Obong Victor Attah

Victor Attah was the PDP governorship candidate of Akwa Ibom state in 1999 and 2003 where he won both elections. He remains a chieftain of the party till date

READ ALSO  Bar. Ken Immasuagbon Congratulates Governor Obaseki as Tribunal Dismissed AA's Petition

Others are;

11. Dr Tunji Otegbeye

12. Dr Chukwuemeka Ezeife

13. Dr Iyorcha Ayu

14. Alhaji Lawal Keita

15. Col Abubakar Umar

16. Professor Ango Abdullahi

17. Alhaji Mohammed Arzika

18. Alhaji Suleiman Komo

19. Alhaji Lawal Dambanzu

20, Malam Iro Dan Musa

21. Alhaji Farouk Abdulazeez

22. Alhaji Musa Yakubu

23. Mr Steve Achema

24. Chief Edwin Ume-Ezeoke

25. Chief Onyeabo Obi

26. Chief Francis Ellah

27. Chief Emeka Echeruo

28. Major General Zamani Lekwot

29. Mr Basil Ukaegbu

30. Mr Isaac Sha’ahu

31. Malam Mahmud Waziri

32. Mr Dangana Nfayako

33. Dr Usman Bugaje

34. Chief Ayo Adebanjo

(Opera News.com)

Like it? Share with your friends!

Jake Clifford

Jake Clifford is a Nigerian Born blogger and a fast growing Journalist, whose aim is to inform Nigerians with happening across Nigeria. Send story tips to him via [email protected] or


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.