FMARD Recruitment 2021  Yobe State SUBEB recruitment portal Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs Recruitment

Sokoto Tribunal orders rerun

1 min

The Governorship, National and States Assemblies Election Petition Tribunal in Sokoto State has ordered for supplementary elections in six polling units of Sokoto North II Constituency in the State Assembly.

Justice Peter Akhihiero gave order in his judgement on Monday in the petition by Alhaji Hussaini Faru, who is challenging the election of incumbent member, Alhaji Ibrahim Sarki.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Sarki of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of 2019 election to the seat and dissatisfied with the decision, Faru of All Progressive Congress (APC) approached the tribunal.

Justice Akhihiero held that the declaration of Sarki by INEC was premature and undue as some polling units results were cancelled.

READ ALSO  PSG thrash Real Madrid 3-0 while Atletico Madrid deny Cristiano Ronaldo's Juventus a win (UEFA Champions League)

He said that the respondents had failed to defend the action raised in the petition beyond doubt.

Akhihiero also ordered for the withdrawal of the certificate of return issued to Sarki by INEC.

The petitioner had argued that INEC should have not declared Sarki as the winner, without conducting supplementary elections in the affected polling units.

He also urged the Tribunal to declare the election as inconclusive.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the tribunal also dismissed the petition of Alhaji Garba Gidan Hamma, who is challenging the election of Alhaji Abdullahi Silame, member representing Illela Federal Constituency.

READ ALSO  Jay-Z signs Megan Thee Stallion to Roc Nation (Photo/Video)

Hamma contested the 2019 election under the umbrella of the PDP, while Silame won under the platform of the APC.

Also, the tribunal dismissed the petition of the immediate past House Leader, Alhaji Garba Bello-Yabo (PDP), who is challenging the election of Alhaji Shehu Shamaki (APC), the incumbent State Assembly member representing Yabo Constituency.


Like it? Share with your friends!

Don Omajemite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.