FMARD Recruitment 2021  Yobe State SUBEB recruitment portal Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs Recruitment

BREAKING!! INEC Releases Provisional List of Candidates for Edo Gov’ship Election (Full List)

2 min

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) met today to deliberate on several issues including the Edo and Ondo end of tenure Governorship Elections as well as the Nasarawa Central State Constituency bye-election.

Provisional List of Candidates for Edo Governorship Election

In accordance with the Timetable and Schedule of Activities released by the Commission on February 6, 2020, 15 political parties signified their intention to conduct primaries for the nomination of their candidates for the Edo Governorship election. The conduct of the primaries by Political Parties ended on June 27, 2020.

At the close of nominations at 6pm on June 29, 2020, 14 political parties used the dedicated online portal of the Commission to submit the list of candidates that emerged from their primaries.

The provisional list of the candidates disaggregated on the basis of name, gender, age and qualification has been uploaded on our website and social media platforms. Furthermore, and as required by law, the particulars of the nominated candidates will be published in the Edo State office of the Commission and simultaneously uploaded on our website on Thursday July 2, 2020.

READ ALSO  BREAKING: Buhari Reappoints INEC Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu

We encourage members of the public to go through the nomination forms, affidavits and documents submitted by the parties on behalf of their candidates, as any person who has reasonable grounds to believe that any information in the affidavit or any document submitted by any candidate is false, may file a suit at the Federal High Court, High Court of a State or the FCT against such a candidate seeking a declaration that the information contained in the affidavit is false. The final list of duly nominated candidates will be published on August 13, 2020 after withdrawals by candidates and substitution by their Political Parties.

Ondo Governorship Election and Nasarawa Central State Constituency Bye Election

We remind political parties interested in nominating candidates for the Ondo Governorship election that the conduct of party primaries will commence on July 2 and end on July 25, 2020. The last date for the submission of the names of duly nominated candidates is July 28, 2020. For the Nasarawa State Central Constituency bye-election, the conduct of primaries for the nomination of candidates starts today, June 30 and will end on July 6, 2020.

READ ALSO  Doctors removed a tumor the size of a 'soccer ball from a man's neck (PHOTOS)

Nomination of Candidates

The Commission is encouraged by the seamless online nomination of candidates for the Edo Governorship election using our newly introduced dedicated portal. The same procedure will apply to the Ondo Governorship, the Nasarawa Central State Constituency bye-election and all subsequent elections to be conducted by the Commission. Accordingly, Political Parties are encouraged to obtain their nomination access codes from the Commission for the bye-election and upload the list of their candidates and their particulars to the dedicated portal between July 3 and July 7, 2020.

For the Ondo Governorship Election, the Commission’s dedicated portal for the submission of the names of candidates that emerge from valid party primaries will open on July 21 and close on July 28, 2020. Political parties are encouraged to submit the list of their candidates on time as the portal will automatically close at 6pm on the last date for the submission of nominations.

READ ALSO  Edo Assembly Reconciliation: Your Excellency, That Ship Has Sailed — PDP Tells Obaseki


The Commission will like to take this opportunity to again draw the attention of all political parties, candidates, aspirants and supporters on the need to obey all Laws, Regulations and Guidelines especially in their campaigns. Equally important is the need for strict adherence to the COVID-19 protocols to ensure their safety and well-being, as well as that of members of the public.

Festus Okoye Esq.
National Commissioner and Chairman,
Information and Voter Education Committee
June 30, 2020.

Like it? Share with your friends!

Jake Clifford

Jake Clifford is a Nigerian Born blogger and a fast growing Journalist, whose aim is to inform Nigerians with happening across Nigeria. Send story tips to him via [email protected] or


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.